Pairing Patterns

I don’t step out of my comfort zone very much. I tend to wear a patterned top with a solid bottom/jacket/vest. Since the weather was so pretty today, I wanted to break out my floral Jason Wu skirt that I bought from Target a few years ago.

  
I’m not usually a huge fan of pleats, but with the longer length of this skirt and the width of the pleats, I feel that even on my shape (wider in the hips) it is flattering. I would recommend this shape and style to anyone! My problem is always what to pair with this skirt. In the summer I have a red and white sleeveless top that I wear with it, but since we’re not even out of February yet the weather wasn’t quite ready for those. 

   

Recently, I found this top by Jones New York at TJ Maxx. It was only $16, so I recommend you run fast to snag one! If you want to try online, I found a very similar top at L. L. Bean on sale for $22 (and free shipping!). In my opinion, I felt comfortable mixing these two patterns for two reasons. 

1. The stripes are thin enough to not compete with the floral design on the skirt.

2. The dominant colors are different but still complementary (red for the top and navy for the bottom). 

   
 
What patterns do you feel comfortable styling together?

4 thoughts on “Pairing Patterns

  1. This is such a cute outfit! I’m also loving your KJP bracelets! All of the gold styles are definitely my favorite πŸ˜‰

    Like

Leave a Reply

